Fran├žois Hautier

Gameplay Programmer

Fall of Hamster

Fall of Hamster is a scoring game available on Android. I developed it alone and it was published in June 2014.

The player controls a hamster which falls in an endless pipe, and must help it to survive while avoiding the highest number obstacles. With the Google Play leaderboards, it’s possible to challenge your friends!

Get the game by clicking here, or below on the Google Play badge!

Game principle and content

To control the hamster, simply drag your finger on the screen. With his dexterity, the player must survive the longest possible time.

The game offers 3 levels of difficulty: the fetus mode (simple), the classic mode (medium) and the nightmare mode (difficult). For each difficulty, a Google Play leaderboard is available to let the player compare his score with his friends. 28 achievements to unlock are also available.

Development

Fall of Hamster is the first game that I have developed and published on a download platform and it’s also my first mobile game! So it was a rewarding experience, because it was the first time that my family and my friends could play on their Android phone to one of my games. The feedback was good and I started to update the game to improve it according to the recommendations of the players.

Reach this score needs a lot of stamina.

In its first version, the game included only one mode of difficulty (the classic mode, hence its name), and when you touched an obstacle, you lose immediately. So I added two new modes of difficulty: one simpler for the players who complained about the too big difficulty of the game, and one harder to bring a challenge to the most experimented. In order to make a less frustrating game, I also added a second chance when the hamster hits slightly on the edge of an obstacle. After that, the player has no more possibility to fail: the colour of the level which comes dark and the shake of the camera during the impact are there to remind him.

One of another learning with this project is the integration of the advertising network Admob to display banner ads and interstitial ads in the game. Unfortunately, I did not become multimillionaire after the release of the game.

François Hautier

Game Developer

Fall of Hamster

Fall of Hamster est un jeu de scoring disponible sur Android. Je l'ai développé et publié seul en juin 2014.

Le joueur incarne un hamster qui chute dans un tuyau sans fin, et doit l’aider à survivre en évitant le plus d’obstacles possible. Grâce aux classements Google Play, il est possible de défier ses amis !

Accédez à la page du jeu en cliquant ici, ou ci-dessous sur le badge Google Play !

Principe du jeu et contenu

Pour contrôler le hamster, il suffit de faire glisser son doigt sur l'écran. Armé de sa dextérité, le joueur doit survivre le plus longtemps possible.

Le jeu propose 3 niveaux de difficulté : le mode fœtus (simple), le mode classique (moyen) et le mode cauchemar (difficile). Pour chaque difficulté, un classement Google Play est disponible pour que le joueur puisse comparer son score avec ses amis. 28 réussites à débloquer sont également disponibles.

Développement

Fall of Hamster est le premier jeu que j’ai développé et publié sur une plateforme de téléchargement et c'est également mon premier jeu mobile ! Ce fut donc une expérience enrichissante, car c’était la première fois que ma famille et mes amis pouvaient jouer sur leur smartphone Android à un de mes jeux. Les retours furent positifs et je me suis attelé à mettre à jour le jeu pour l’améliorer par rapport aux avis des joueurs.

Avoir un tel score nécessite de l'endurance.

Dans sa première version, le jeu ne disposait que d’un mode de difficulté (le mode classique, d’où son nom), et toucher un obstacle vous faisait perdre instantanément. J'ai donc introduit deux nouveaux modes de difficulté : un mode plus simple pour les joueurs qui s’étaient plaints de la grande difficulté du jeu, et un mode hardcore pour donner un défi aux plus expérimentés. Pour que le jeu soit un peu moins frustrant, j’ai également ajouté une seconde chance lorsque le hamster percute légèrement le bord d’un obstacle. Après ça, le joueur n'a plus le droit à l'erreur : la couleur du niveau qui devient sombre et la caméra qui tremble lors du choc sont là pour lui rappeler.

L'un des autres apprentissages sur ce projet est l'intégration du réseau publicitaire Admob pour faire apparaître dans le jeu des bannières publicitaires lors du game over, et des publicités interstitielles au retour au menu du jeu. Je ne suis malheureusement pas devenu milliardaire après la sortie du jeu.